In 1825 the Storer brothers
sold 17 acres and 42 rods of this land to shipbuilder, Joel Larrabee Jr.,
who later lost it to Kennebunk Bank. The bank then sold 15
acres and 53 rods in
1828 to farmer/joiner Samuel
Simpson. In 1843 Simpson sold 2 acres to farmer John Drown.
It is between this date and 1856 when this present house appeared on this
site. The house is Federal in shape with Italinate
trim detailing the exterior. Visually, the details of
the house appears to be older than 1843. Around
this time period Drown gave a mortgage to William Lord, which was redeemed.
This money may have been used to build this house. The
land and house passed through various owners and property sold off. In
2001, Randee and Norm Perkins purchased this home on an acre and remodeled
the farm house and converted the interior of the barn for the intent of
opening a pet friendly B&B . Few changes were made to the charming
exterior of the structures. Extensive updates to the interior were done
while preserving all original details. As proud owners we welcome
you to share our comfortable and homey lodging and if persuaded we could
share stories and pictures of our 1½ years experience renovating
this 'labor of love'. click
here for articles about the Hounds Tooth Inn
Last Updated: 1/01/07
Website Designed & Maintained by: Q2Marketsite, Inc.